(Please visit one of our advertisers)

No donations or subscriptions are required

OR   

Subscription choices:
Board Karma = 40  (3488 positive of 3870 votes is 40 %pts higher than a neutral 50%)
All Things (Safety Oriented) Motorcycle   
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

You can the entire collection of Safety Tip articles in a 33 Megabyte PDF Portfolio

All Forums
 Motorcycle Safety
 Physics and the theoretical
 Horsepower vs CC
Next Page
Member Previous Topic Discussion Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

JMalmsteen
Female New Member
13 Posts

Long Island/Lancaster, NY/PA
USA

Harley-Davidson

XL1200

Posted - 02/13/2014 :  6:25 PM                       Like
I am a physics teacher and this stuff is still making me crazy so I figured I would call upon the collective knowledge of the members of this site.

Apparently, the CCs of a motorcycle and the HP are very different things. For instance, I have a Suzuki S40 that is a 650 cc bike, but has around 30 hp. On the other hand, I have a Harley that is a 1200 cc bike and maybe it has 65 HP, I'll never know because Harley Davidson does not release HP numbers.

Now, there are sport bikes that are 600 cc and they can have 100 HP. A bike that I am looking at currently, the Yamaha FZ-09, is a triple with 847 cc with around 115 HP.

Why are ccs sometimes used to express the power of a motorcycle where other times it is useless because the true horsepower numbers are much more important, such as with a Honda CBR600rr vs. the 650 cc Suzuki Savage.

I would appreciate any insight into this mystery. Thanks, guys!

kacinpa
Male Advanced Member
802 Posts
[Mentor]

Lansdale, PA
USA

Triumph

Sprint GT

Posted - 02/13/2014 :  10:05 PM
Let me get this straight.

You teach PHYSICS?