(Please visit one of our advertisers)

No donations or subscriptions are required

OR   

Subscription choices:
Board Karma = 40  (3456 positive of 3838 votes is 40 %pts higher than a neutral 50%)
All Things (Safety Oriented) Motorcycle   
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

You can the entire collection of Safety Tip articles in a 33 Megabyte PDF Portfolio

All Forums
 Motorcycle Safety
 Sharing of Lessons Learned
 1983 Honda Virago 750 as a starter bike?
Member  Discussion Topic Next Topic  

Detroit Slim
Starting Member
8 Posts

Los Angeles, CA
USA

Peer Review:

Posted - 03/31/2005 :  12:59 AM                       Like
Hope this is the right forum for this... I'm a newbie who just got out of motorcycle school, and finally got the license. I'm shopping for my first bike, and out of the gate, was looking for a 1994-96 Kawasaki Vulcan. I liked the bike, and have gotten to sit on one, and it's at the upper end of my price range. (~$2500)

Essentially, I want to get a decent street cruiser to cruise around Los Angeles, and take day trips to the desert, San Diego, maybe Vegas on a wild ride.

Tomorrow night I'm going to look at a 1983 Honda Virago 750. The owner claims it has a clean title, and 9400 miles on it. It's also right in the ballpark of what I can afford. Does anyone have any feedback on this as a starter bike? How does it compare to a Vulcan? What should I look for or be concerned about in buying one?

I'm spending time poking around in the forums here, but any feedback, or advice on finding and buying a starter bike would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Cash Anthony
Female Administrator
1470 Posts
[Mentor]

Houston, Texas
USA

Honda

Magna 750

Posted - 03/31/2005 :  1:52 PM Follow poster on Twitter  Join poster on Facebook as Friend