(Please visit one of our advertisers)

No donations or subscriptions are required

OR   

Subscription choices:
Board Karma = 40  (3456 positive of 3838 votes is 40 %pts higher than a neutral 50%)
All Things (Safety Oriented) Motorcycle   
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Off Theme
 Acknowledgements
 It's official
Member Previous Topic Discussion Topic Next Topic  

Axiom2000
Male Moderator
1761 Posts
[Mentor]

Georgetown, Delaware
USA

BMW

F 800 GT

Posted - 01/20/2010 :  6:55 PM                       Like
I am now a licensed amateur radio operator. Sat for and passed the FCC Technician Class License this evening, scored a 100%.

Originally started this quest in order to mount a HAM radio on the motorcycle. After all the studying and learning of what is really involved I have decided against that. Even with VOX, helmet mounted speakers and MIC it would be just too much of a distraction and a real compromise to safety I believe.

Not sure what I will do with it to tell the truth, most likely I will start with a small base station and see how I like it. There is still a tremendous amount to learn the Tech Class License is the entry level and limits the holder on what can actually be done.

If anyone ever thought about trying this, now would be the time. The tests no longer have a requirement for Morse Code. I don't want to say the test is easy but anyone willing to spend 30 to 40 hours reading and studying would do fine with the Tech. Class test.

Night Train
Male Advanced Member
1668 Posts
[Mentor]

Sydney, Nova Scotia
Canada

Kawasaki

2006 VN900

Posted - 01/20/2010 :  7:23 PM   Join poster on Facebook as Friend  
Congratulations, although you've decided not to use it on the bike, I am sure you will find countless hours of enjoyment on the Ham radio elsewhere. Always nice to learn something new and to challenge ourselves at any age.
Go to Top of Page

Axiom2000
Male Moderator
1761 Posts
[Mentor]

Georgetown, Delaware
USA

BMW