(Please visit one of our advertisers)

No donations or subscriptions are required

OR   

Subscription choices:
Board Karma = 40  (3452 positive of 3834 votes is 40 %pts higher than a neutral 50%)
All Things (Safety Oriented) Motorcycle   
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

You can the entire collection of Safety Tip articles in a 33 Megabyte PDF Portfolio

All Forums
 Motorcycle Safety
 Polls
 Training
Member Previous Topic Discussion Topic Next Topic  
gershon
Ex-Member

Posted - 08/24/2007 :  11:49 AM   DetailDetail                        Like
Poll Question:
Where did you receive your training to ride before getting your license? (If there is more than one answer, use the first answer that applies.)

Results:
Professional Training (MSF, Rider's Edge, etc.)   [48%] 23 votes 
School/club course   [0%] 0 votes 
Self taught   [42%] 20 votes 
Taught by friends or family   [10%] 5 votes 
= Guests (10 votes)

Poll Status: Closed  »»   Total Votes: 48 counted  »»   Last Vote: 09/07/2007 1:46 PM 

scottrnelson
Advanced Member
6914 Posts
[Mentor]

Meridian, ID
USA

Honda

XR650L, 1090 Adv R

Posted - 08/24/2007 :  12:55 PM
I got my motorcycle license before I learned to ride. But I had many years of bicycling experience first. The written test was all common sense, and I passed it 100% with no studying whatsoever. The riding test was also pretty simple, and I passed it with less than two hours total of riding any sort of two wheeled motorized vehicle.

There were no riding classes available back then (you know, in the olden days).
Go to Top of Page

nomad dan
Advanced Member
1276 Posts

Denver, Colorado
USA

Kawasaki

06 Vulcan Nomad 1600

Posted - 08/24/2007 :  1:00 PM
I don't know about self-taught, can you really teach yourself all about shifting and the gear pattern without anyone telling you how? If so, I suppose you are amazingly intuitive.